RSS

Anachronox – Happy 10th Anniversary!

27 Jul

Happy 10th Anniversary to Anachronox! Much love from the Escapist.

Escapist Anachronox article

It’s the 10th Anniversary. Shall I get gifts of Tin, Aluminum or Diamond? We shall see!

Thanks to all the great, heartfelt developers on the team. We deeply cared about the game, the characters. Special should out to Jake Hughes, brilliant director of the cinematics and producer (who weirdly doesn’t get enough credit for groundbreaking work, and Richard Gaubert, amazingly talented writer and designer. Much love to Joey Liaw (PLANET!), Squirrel–er… Brian (APE), Josh, Henrik, Ralph, LeeDot and all the team that stayed to the end and really hit a home run. Great art by Lee, Seneca, Jay, so many folks, (sorry if I forget — I had a stroke! will add if I get reminded) — such fond, fond memories. Really proud of the universe and characters we created. Great job guys…

Will Anachronox 2 ever get made…? Well, you never know…. but for now, make a bowl of popcorn, watch the Anachronox movie, and remember how great it was to leave the Bricks for adventure across the galaxy!

 
20 Comments

Posted by on July 27, 2011 in Uncategorized

 

20 responses to “Anachronox – Happy 10th Anniversary!

  1. qptain Nemo

    July 27, 2011 at 8:54 pm

    Aye! And thank you, Tom, thank you so much for making this game. Can’t say for others but it’s changed my life and is a neverending source of inspiration for my own humble attempts at game making. I look up at you, I always will. Because what you and your team had achieved there was very literally a masterpiece.

    I wish you luck at everything you do and make regardless of the fate of this game. But there’ll always be a grain of hope that you get to make Anachronox 2 deep in my heart. And have no doubt – if the day comes when you announce that Anachronox 2 will see the light then you’ll make at least one person truly insanely happy.
    Though, I’m pretty sure that there’d be more than just me. It’s just not all of them would go completely crazy over it you know.

    Sly Boots L:-\

    Anyway, let’s get to partying!

     
  2. Mark H

    July 27, 2011 at 9:22 pm

    I just started playing this game recently, and love it already. 🙂

    Epic job on the game, man (and everyone who helped!). The characters are sweet, the music and zoomy camera are epic, the music is perfect, and, despite what some people say, the artwork is great (It’d be outdated now even if you’d used a newer engine, but you guys did a fabulous job with what you had). I’m sorry about you losing the rights to your best games (Anachronox and Keen), but your games will always have a place in our hearts (And our kids’, if Wine and DOSBox stay active for future OS’s!). Keep up the great, work, man! We’re all pulling for you!

     
  3. Retodon8

    July 28, 2011 at 1:50 am

    Happy Anniversary!
    Anachronox is a game I completely missed out on.
    When I later discovered what it was, I wish I’d played it, and I still do.

     
  4. Jorpho

    July 29, 2011 at 4:23 pm

    I really should go back and finish this game some day, and maybe write a nice little review to post somewhere. I think I stopped right before the final battle. Someone put together a nice patch compilation at http://www.gamefront.com/files/15856631/Anachoronox_Patches_3_0_rar , by the way.

    Am I the only one who picked up a real “Keen” vibe from the game at certain points? (Dodging mines with Paco comes to mind.)

    P.S. Hyperspace Delivery Boy turns 10 in December. 😉

     
  5. Luke

    July 30, 2011 at 2:11 am

    Happy Anniversary to one of the most atmospheric and creative games ever made! I’ve never directly thanked anyone who was involved with making Anachronox, but the visuals, the music, the writing have all been so inspiring and moving to me that the game will remain on my hard drive for a long, long time.

    Thank you!

     
  6. Creaper

    August 7, 2011 at 12:36 am

    “If I don’t do the game in the next 10 years, I’ll just write up the rest of the story and put it on my website for closure, how about that?”

    Sweet! 😀

     
  7. szeneuro

    August 14, 2011 at 12:31 pm

    Happy Birthday and thanks for this wonderful game.
    How about a Anachronox HD (DC) for exclusive release on gog.com with tons of extras and maybe a bit of the cut content included in the game?
    That would be something.

     
  8. Eder RM

    August 30, 2011 at 10:17 pm

    Fond, fond memories of Anachronox… One of the best pieces of art / fiction I have ever… how to say… EXPERIENCED.

    I dream of a sequel… one day maybe. 😉

    Think I will play it again sometime soon.

     
  9. Vainamoinen

    September 23, 2011 at 9:06 pm

    Awww, I tried hard, but my original Anachronox purchase won’t run properly on Windows7 64. Serious lags stop the game for 30+ seconds in fights and in transitions between cutscenes and gameplay. But if this ever goes on GOG.com with compatibility ensured, I’ll certainly buy again. And it’s high time! No real hope left for a sequel, but… with all that rubbish coming out today, a proper PC RPG like this would be a certain purchase.

     
    • creaper

      January 16, 2012 at 2:25 am

      If they put Anachronox on GOG. And insure I can play it on my now 64bit system I will buy it again.

       
      • creaper

        January 16, 2012 at 2:35 am

        Obviously Tom was on to something with Anachronox, and Eidos didn’t do thier part. “Hey let’s make a game and not tell a soul, so we can make Millions from it!”. I didn’t hear, or find the game until it was already marked down.

        Now we may never see this genre again for the PC because of it.

         
  10. C. Aquino (@desgastada)

    September 27, 2011 at 3:06 pm

    Hi, first of all I would like to thank you and your team very much for Anachronox, one of the best games I’ve ever played and I’ve played a lot of them. And I would like to say that I probably bought the last boxed Anachronox in the Earth! Check it out at http://blog.retinadesgastada.com.br/2011/06/ultima-caixa-na-terra.html (it is in Portuguese, since I’m Brazilian, but the pictures speak for themselves, I hope).

     
  11. atravousnee

    October 16, 2011 at 10:07 am

    Found my Anachronox box. Got it on my shelf now. Sent you a fan letter outlining a game that ran paralell to Commander Keen 1 that was edgy as all get-out when I was 12 in 1998. It was called Vorticon Revolution. You replied, and I have no idea where that letter is and it kills me.

    Also Anachronox is the bomb. Only slightly JRPG that tolerate.

     
    • tommune

      October 16, 2011 at 3:26 pm

      Cool!

      Aw, saaad!

      Thanks! It was fun making both of ’em…..

       
  12. Creaper

    December 21, 2011 at 10:11 pm

    Playing SWTOR is reminding me of Anachronox with it’s environmental graphics. It only took 12 years to catch up?

     
  13. Anthony

    December 29, 2011 at 2:05 am

    Hey tom i have always wondered if there is a way to make the game work on 64 nit windows 7?

     
    • Jorpho

      January 16, 2012 at 8:35 pm

      Try the link in my earlier post.

      Apparently the big problem is not so much Windows 7 x64, but changes in the OpenGL support of today’s graphics card drivers.

       
  14. Jorpho

    February 16, 2012 at 6:07 pm

    There’s a lot of fuss lately about what Tim Schafer is doing with Kickstarter. Might you perhaps be inspired to start a Kickstarter for, say, buying back the rights to Anox? Or Keen, for that matter? (I might imagine such things are not strictly a matter of money, but I wouldn’t know.)

    You could offer copies of Hyperspace Delivery Boy as a donation incentive! ;D

     
  15. Jorpho

    March 15, 2012 at 3:01 pm

    Haylookit! It finally happened!
    http://www.gog.com/en/news/new_release_anachronox

     
  16. Mike Vogel

    June 11, 2012 at 3:47 am

    Well I realize this is an old article, but what the hey. I’m gonna post on it anyway. ‘cuz I’m rebellious like that… or something.

    Just re-discovered this gem via GOG.com and thought “!!!!”. Purchasing it immediately was a no-brainer. I remember waiting for this game forever (as in “was really anxious to play it”) before it came out originally.

    I had the privilege of meeting you as well as Squirrel at E3 (either 99 or 2000; I forget which) when you were demoing the game. I had a short chat with you about it until Kurt Loder came up and wanted to interview you. I then talked to Squirrel at length about it. Poor guy’s voice was just about gone, but he was no less excited or happy to talk about it. It was a cool experience meeting and speaking with both of you.

    I did, of course, get Anachronox when it came out. It was absolutely up to my expectations and then some. Fantastic game that still stands up today, regardless of its “aging” tech. Can’t wait to play through it again.

    Would be awesome if you could revisit that universe again in some fashion. Who knows what you could come up with now.

    Thanks again for the fun!

    All the best….

     

Leave a Reply

 
